Gomel region is situated on the South - West of Belarus, Borders on Bryansk region of Russia, Kiev,
Chernigov and Zhytomir regions of the Ukraine. The territory of Gomel region is 40,400km2. Green
counterpane of forests shrouds 1/3 of the region and large rivers- The Dnepr, The Sozh, The Berezina,
The Priryat are important navigable water ways of Belarus. Within the area of the region there are
National park «Pripyatsky» and Polesye radiation and ecological reserve. Things of Ancient Art
are being kept carefully in 23 museums. Four theatres and The Philharmonics meet visitors and
amateurs of Beauty in hospitable manner during whole theatrical season.
Within the region there are 2540 monuments, including 136 historical and cultural one, 1040
archeological one, and 141 architectural one. If the latter (ancient settlements, sepulchrals,
ancient sites) are interesting for archeologists and historians, the other sights of the region
without exception finds a broad response among all people: dreamers, adventurers, connoisseurs of
Byelorussian History when they travel for I the sake of new impressions.
1142 is reputed to be a year of the foundation of Gomel. The name of the city is mentioned first in
Ipatjevskaya chronicle. Today Gomel is the second city in Belarus. It is social and political centre of
interregional connections among Belarus, Russia, The Ukraine, it is very important industrial,
scientific and transport centre.
Acquaintance with the city begins at the railway station as usual. The Lenin square is the heart of the
city, the square at the railway station is its gate.
The visit card of Gomel is palace and park ensemble of The Rumyantsev and The Patskevich. It is an
architectural monument of 18 -19 centuries. The history of the Palace numbers more then 200 years and
it is connected with the activity of Peter Alexandrovich and Nikolaj Petrovich Ruminates,
Ivan Theeodorovich and Irina Ivanovna Patskevich.
The area of the palace and park ensemble is nearly 40 h. Broken ground, hills and ravines is added with
foot - bridges and stairs.
The decisive change in the life of Gomel was in 1772. The Eastern part of Belarus was joined with Russia
and Gomel was granted to General-Field-Marshal count P. A. Rumyantsev. After P. A. Rumyantsev's death
in 1796 the estate pass into the hands of his son, count N. P. Rumyantsev, when settlement Gomel with
wooden houses turned into regularly planned town with stone buildings.
The new stage of Palace building design begins when well-known Russian military leader,
General-Field-Marshal, the Warszawa Prince Ivan Theodorovich Patskevich - Eryvansky redeems the estate.
For 25 years he was official Deputy Russian Emperor in Poland. I. TH. Patskevich found a lot of time
for Gomel estate. He adds some show rooms for exhibition of captured materials and emperor's gifts.
According to the project of A. Chervinsky smart and original chapel in pseudo Russian style and tomb for
the members of Patskevich family was erected in 1870-1889 within the park. St. Paul and Peter Cathedral
is one of the largest religion architectural monument of early XIX century (1809-1819 Architect
J. Clark). Majestic cross - vaulting architectural style of the Cathedral impresses us after nearly
200 years. The Cathedral is working now. The memorial gravestone fastened at the left end among icons
points the burial place of Russian chancellor, well - known diplomat, Patron of Art and Literature,
educationist N. P. Rumyantsev.
The dominant of it is the building of Russian Regional Drama Theatre that was built in 1964. The main
front of the theatre turning toward the park was modeled as portico of 6 columns of composite order
with the front decorated with sculpture. Above the front there is a dominated sculpture of Goddess
of Melpomene, the patroness of Dramatic Art, with Laurels in her hand. The theatre was opened on
November, 6, 1954.
RELAXATION AND IMPROVING HEALTH TOURISM
You can improve your health in the best health centre within Gomel Region Health centre «Golden sands»
It is necessary to order the detailed program in the travel agency «Golden sands».
Health centre «Pridneprovsky»
Health centre «Chonky» Belarus, Gomel region, Gomel district, settlement
We invite you to excursions «Golden ring of Gomel» propose you following tours within
Gomel region: It is necessary to order the list of tours and trips in the travel agency.
Weekend tour - 3 day tour.
The program proposes free choice of 3 historic centers of Belarus, The Ukraine and Russia from the
following list: Minsk, Brest, Grodno, Vitebsk, Mogiliov, Zhlobin, Mozyr, Turov, Pinsk, Bryansk,
The tour starts in Gomel, the city bordering on three countries: Belarus, The Ukraine
and Russia. Because of that the tour is called «Slavonic unity». The sign of Chernobyl
On April 2006,26 it was the 20 anniversary of Chernobyl atomic catastrophe, the most terrible in human
history. All generations of people would remember Chernobyl and feel its consequences. Because of
explosion and fire within 4 power generating unit of Chernobyl Power Station from destroyed reactor
the huge amount of long living radio nuclides were spread on the territory. It is much more than
several hundreds Herosima.
Nowadays after 20 years of Chernobyl catastrophe people occupy this territory. Within 30km Chernobyle
zone it is Polessky radiation and ecological reserve. The territory has the highest level of X-Ray
radiation and it is the unique object of biological variety of fauna and flora. Program:
1 day: Arrival. Acquaintances with Gomel and its history, places of interest, passing the night.
2 day: Breakfast, Visiting Chernobyl zone with scientists from The National Academy of Science.
Viewing deserted buildings and schools, unique kinds of
flora and fauna.
Briefing with specialists on Catastrophe and current ecological situation and future
of the restricted zone. Leaving.
Price (1 group - 8persons min) - 70 Dollars USA/ person
PS: We receive demands for visiting Polessky radiation and ecological reserve within 15 days.
In 17-18 centauries Vetka and adjoining large villages, cloisters and small secluded monasteries were
the centre of religious dissidence. In the early 30-th of 18-th centaury there were nearly 40000
inhabitants in Vetka.
Tsar's punitive troops burnt Vetka twice (1735 and 1764), a great number of people departed in the east
of Russia. Population of Vetka is not renewed still. (Now there are 8000 inhabitants in this town).
Since 1772 Vetka was a part of Russian Empire. In 1847 and 1862 there were men's and women's people's
schools opened. Since 1919 Vetka became a part of the RSFSR, in 1921 it has got town status and in
1926 it became a part of the BSSR. Since 18 of August, 1941 till 28 of September, 1943 the town was
occupied by German invaders. 656 inhabitances became their victims. In 1986 Vetka was suffered from
Among number of legends of origin of name «Vetka» the brightest may be next one: Vetka is a small branch
of Moscow. It's founders, moscowers by birth, named the main square Red and the main Cathedral was
named Pokrovsky in Vetka. Just in Red square at the residence of merchant Groshykov (architectural
monument of the 19-th centaury) on 1-st November 1987 The Vetka Folklore Museum was opened. The Vetka
citizen Fyodor Grigorjevich Shklyarov was an active collector and promoter of art works. It was his
collection that set forth the museum.Now the museum is recognized as Artistic Educational Centre.
It is turned into Research Centre of traditional culture. Museum funds consist of 8000 exhibits.
Many of them are unique. First of all these are icons.
Brazen bell ringing remains for ever in the collection of samovars. Not long ago each of them was in
the centre of attraction for family circle. Vetka is rich in architectural monuments not only of old
times but update one: the church in village Zheleznyaky. The Salvation and Transfiguration Church in
Vetka, late 90-th of XX century.
Well-known handwork towels (rushniks) from Neglubka are cultural heritage and national property of Gomel
region. Rushnik's handicraft has brought a world-wide fame and gold medals to Vetka.
The treasures of books and decorated manuscripts have been created and collected for ages in Vetka.
There are old relics of 16-20 centauries in the museum collection. Blossoming twig is the basic motif
of the Vetka book ornament. All book is the gardens of Paradise. It is full of singing: between
letters of the text there are ancient notes- «hooks».The ancient printed books are of special value.
The collection includes printed editions by Ivan Fyodorov and Pyotr Mstislavets, Andronicus Timofeev Nevezha, Vasily Gara-burda.
The real perl in the crown of Polesye is Mozyr. The majestic Pripyat, picturesque hills and ravines give
unique color and marvelous beauty to the town. Mozyr celebrated the 850 anniversary in 2005. The town
exists for 8,5 centuries already and nowadays it remains mystery where is the origin name of the town
from? There are a lot of ideas. One of them is connected with the name of the ethic west-east group
That fact has been confirmed with scientific research The first mention of Mozyr was in
Ipatiev record of « Legend from times immemorial» and belongs to 1555, when a count Jury Dolgoruky
presented the town and vicinity to his ally the count from Chernigov Svyatoslav. This event was
assumed as a basis of town's chronology.
Although scientists believe Mozyr is much older. Archeological
excavations proved the first Slavonic settlement within Mozyr had existed from the late VI to the
middle of IX century (now it is northern-east part of the town). Historic centre of ancient Mozyr
is situated on Zamkovaya Mountain where the Detinets has been situated. It is the most ancient part
of the town. Later here a wooden and than stone castle have been erected.
Mozyr castle was both
witness and participant of all historical events in the life of the town. Attacks of enemies and
fires destroyed the castle many times but it has been rebuilt again. Battles of XVII century
destroyed the castle completely. The castle has lost its defensive importance and it has not been
rebuilt as a fortification. In 1557 Mozyr got self government Right (Magdeburg Right).
this time the town got its national symbol: against a blue background there is a black eagle.
On its chest there is a shield with a small red letter S, the monogram of King Stephan Batoria.
In 1773 because of the second division of Rech Pospolitaya the town was included into Russian Empire.
In two years Mozyr became the district centre of Minsk province. An Afew architectural monument has been
well preserved to this day.
One of them is Saint Archangel Michael Cathedral. The Cathedral was built
in 1648 as a Bernardino's Church which was rebuilt twice: in 1760- 1765. Orthodox Church sanctified
the Cathedral in 1865. Another monument is Cistercian's nunnery and a cloister. The nunnery and the
cloister were built in 1744-1745 on the right bank of the river Pripyat. It is known as «Angel
valley». The nunnery was closed in 1883 and in five years it was transferred to the possession of
Orthodox Church. In 1893-1894 the cloister was reconstructed in Orthodox style. Former cloister is
the architectural monument of the late baroque, wall thickness reaches 1, 5 jn. At first the walls had been frescoed but frescos have not been preserved to this day. Today the town goes ahead in spite of respectable age greeting all visitors.
The heart of Polesye. This is that pure spring of the Slavonic peoples you should dry to the dregs to
know culture and the way of life of our distinct ancestors. Polesye keeps a great deal of cultural
monuments of various ages. Polesye is a huge open air natural museum. Turov is the heart of Polesye,
a very old Russian town on the bank of the river Pripyat, on the land of Dregovichs. In ancient times
Turov principality includes Slutsk, Nesvizh and Pinsk. Turov was mentioned first in Ipatjevskaya
chronicle in 980.
Monument in honor of Turov thousandth anniversary. On many opinions of scientists in IX-XI centuries
Turov was the second town after Kiev in Old Russia. There are several versions about the origin of the
name of the town. It is possible, the first legendary Russian prince Tur gave the name to the town
according to the chronicle. There is an opinion the name came from mighty wild bull which was the king
of wild beasts in Byelorussian Polesye. It was annihilated in XVII century. When going to Zamkovaya
mountain you can see a massive silhouette .
The basis of the monument is unique Byzantine cross. The
figure of Kirila Turovsky join cross.lt jut out lifting ahead up. Hands are bent on a level with chest,
the book with cross on the cover is in the left hand, right hand gesture is directed at the book,
there is nimbus around the head. To the right of the book there is an inscription : «Saint Kirill,
«bishop of Turov».( 7meters high). Saint Kirill Turovsky is the preceptor of virtue, a preacher and
theologian, ascetic and bibliophile, poet and speaker named «Speaker with golden words , the Brightest
Star in Old Russia", expert on Holy Writ. Scripture and literature, he was working for God's sake
The Gospel of Turov is one of the most ancient East Slavonic Christian manuscripts . Konstantin
Konstantinovich Ostrozhsky was Turov born. It was erected by Church here. Konstantinf christening
name is Vasily), (1527-1608) belonged to the famous prince's family.
The Ostrozhsky came from
Princes of Turov, descendants of Svyatopolk Izyaslavich which held the Kiev throne in 1093-1113.
He defended the honor of Orthodoxy ardently during Union, took care of education, publishing books,
opening schools, patronizing scientists . In 1596 he took part in Church Council in Brest.
To support Orthodoxy he opened a special school in Ostrog, organized two printing-houses in Ostrog
and Derman, in 1580 he published Bible, supported scientist and priest from Lvov Vasily, who composed
the book «About Single Belief, and Christopher Bronsky, the author of «Apokrlsis» which was against
Chronicles of 1158 about 10 week unsuccessful siege of the town and a number of attacks
of Prince Izyaslav and his allies shows us that defensive positions of Tyrov was dependable
and inaccessible. Unfortunately , a great deal of illustrations of material values have been lost
because of constant wars. Fortifications was razed to the ground of Turov. In ancient times there
were75 churches in Turov according to the chronicle. Becouse of that the town have been named
«the Second Jerusalem».
MARVELOUS TOURIST RESORTS
Oh, Sport! You are The World!
Modern sport objects of Gomel region attracts a lot of tourists. It can be used for the high
certified sport competitions and attracts fans.
1. Equestrian sport complex. It exists since 1958 after founding Gomel equestrian sport school (now it is
Sports school for children and Juniors on equestrian sport and update pentathlon). The complex is
founded in the area of former summer residence of The Patskevich. Many parts of it has been preserved
excellent till this day: There are hippodrome, stables, the house of the manager, cascade of reservoirs.
Now the estate is of great historic and architectural value. Complex includes 5 stables, circular
riding school 16m in diameter, front manege, 4 concourse lacquering floors (two of them are suitable
for international tournaments), sandy field for training and two «barrels» for special training horses,
2 riding houses in diameter, 5 areas for free keeping horses, training fields, field test track.
After putting into operation a winter riding house on December, 1996 the complex became the best in
the country. Winter equestrian sport riding house with front manege, and administrative and consumer
services boxes meets the international requests for equestrian sport.
2. Ice palace It was put into operation on May, 2000. The heart of the Palace is an ice court 61 x 30m
with stands for 2760 spectators which allows to arrange international hockey matches and ice dancing
shows, popular shows, concerts of pop stars,. The Palace includes a choreographic room and a gym. For
international tournaments the Palace is equipped with modern infra structure including illuminated
indicator board, press- center, computers, sound equipment and duplicators, VIP box.
Now hotel complex «Tourist» has everything to satisfy requests of the most fastidious and refined
clients. The Hotel is situated in the centre of the town. Buses and trolleybuses connects the hotel with
the railway station, the bus station, the airport. The hotel includes 181 rooms for 314 persons.
visitors could get:
apartments for VIP persons (the first class double rooms, rooms for 3 persons), 13 first class double
two roomed apartments, 48 single rooms, 119 double rooms.
MARVELOUS TOURIST RESORTS
Sport Mounting Ski Center «Mozyr» (ski tracks).
Complex is situated in the center of the town. In the center of the complex there are two ski-tracks of
different complicacy. It is suitable for skiers of all categories: from beginners to Masters. One of
the track is equipped with hoop lift, 180 m length, capacity is 900 people an hour. The length of the
basic track is 300m, width is 30m, changing of heights is within 28m. For mounting ski sport training
and tubing tracks are equipped. Hire service center proposes foot wear and stock.
For amateurs of adrenalin there is show «Tabagan». Visitors can admire the landscape of the national
park «Mozyr ravines». This show is the visit card of the complex.
Mounting ski complex can work in summer,
proposing 2 tennis courts, mini football field with artificial cover, health path for walking within
the national park. Here you have an opportunity to be alone or to organize a picnic.
Hotel «Pripyat» is in the centre of the town on the bank of the river Pripyat.
There are 218 single and double rooms.
STEAM-SHIP "DOBRY" ("KIND")
Unforgettable rest on water.
The most comfortable steam-ship of Belarus invites you in a 7-days trip on the rivers
Sozh and Dnieper visiting the reserve of Pripyatsky and the capital of principality Turov.
During the trip you will see the magnificent panorama of the river and its picturesque
vicinities from the deck of the steam-ship. The high quality service of the steam-ship
crew is at your disposal. According to your desire the cook will cook you firm dishes of
the Byelorussian and the Ukrainian kitchen.
Acabin of the first class in the ship's bows, 4 cabins (doubles) in the ship's stem, sauna
for 4 pax, a refrigerator, a caboose (a smoking shed, a brazier and a bar), a bathroom
(a shower, a basin, a toilet) are available. In the cabin of the first class there are a TV
set, a video and mobile connection.
The characteristics of the steam-ship are:
speed - 25 km/h, landing 70 ñì, length of the vessel 27 ì, width 5m.
The steam-ship service is only in the light time of the day.
Navigation is from April 15 till October 15.
Maximum quantity of the tourists is 10 pax.
The first class-350 Euro Standard-300 Euro.
We accept individual orders for celebrations and excursions. The price is on contractual basis.
Traveling by rafts along rivers and reserves of Belarusian Polesye.
It is very interesting kind of «green tourism». It includes sport and improving health tour, fishing.
The size of the raft is 3x6, the size of the hut is 3,5x3x2,5m. It is for family tour or a party
including 4 persons. It has 2 doubled inflatable beds with bed clothes, a table, chairs, a kitchen set
and a gas cooker.
The tour includes groups for 5-7 persons or 14 rafts (20-50 persons) under the
leadership of 2 instructors in motor boats and service raft with all conveniences: a kitchen, shower,
sauna, cycles, fishing tackles and so on.
At night rafts is equipped with illuminating lights from
electric generator, music. If you require it could be organized breakfast,
dinner or food delivery. It is planed a cycle voyage, fishing, excursions.
National park "Pripyatsky"
The territory spreads from West to East within 64km( from North to South is 27km). It is a huge plain in
the South of Pripyat Polesye. It includes flood lands of the river Pripyat and terraces. Because of
constantly flooding it has been formed original oak-groves, ash-groves changed by willow-groves.
Among them there are more than 30 flood lakes and from South to North there are many small rivers.
Tourist complex «Chlupinskaya buda».
It is the most large on the territory of the National park «Pripyatsky». It is deep in the forest 4km
near from the river Pripyat. It consists of 4 cottage, parking, camping, sauna. Two buildings have
4 doubled rooms,3 buildings have 2 first class rooms. The buildings are equipped with mini kitchen set,
bathroom, fridge, TV and upholstered furniture in the hall, Hi-Fi system. 4 building includes dining
room, bar, dancing room. Visitors can request 3 meals a day for payment. Menu includes traditional
courses of Byelorussian Polesye (vareniky, draniky), special courses of National Park (stuffed fish and
baked fish). Courtesy house «Kabachok».
It is in the forest near from the bank of the river Pripyat. It consists of 2 cottages with de- luxe and
convenient rooms with mini kitchen set, showers with cold and hot water, fridge, telephone.
It is for 17-20 persons.
Courtesy house «Cheretyanka».
It is DE- Luxe cottage for 4-6 persons. It is situated in the forest reserve on the bank of the lake
«Cheretyanka». Two doubled room includes mini kitchen set, bathroom, fridge, TV and fire place.
There are pier, Russian baths, near the lake, fire, open air cage with wolf-cubs. Traveling by rafts
with huts along the rivers and parks of Byeloryssian Polesye.
Description: Size- 3X6m. One half of raft
has Hut 3,5 x 2,5 with 3 panoramic windows, the other one has plastic lattice floor of green grass
color encircled with benches.
The rafts are equipped with electric driving gear. It is for family tour
or party including 4 persons. It has 2 doubled inflatable beds with bed- clothes, a table, chairs,
kitchen set and gas cooker.
Tour includes groups for 5-7 persons or 14 rafts (20-50 persons) under
the leadership of 2 instructors with moto boats and service raft with all conveniences, cycles,
fishing tackles and so on. At night rafts is equipped with illuminating lights from electric
generator, music. If you request it couid be organized breakfast, dinner or delivery of food.
It is planned cycle voyage, fishing, hot air ballooning for panoramic examination of the environment.
Motor ship «Zubr 2». It is on the bank of the Pripyat. It is used as a hotel. It includes 6 rooms
(2-doubled and 4 single) with mini kitchen set, dining room, room for relaxation with TV, shower,
toilet. Motor ship can be used also for aqua voyage along the river Pripyat. There are rivers in
Byelorussian Polesye and is there fish in it? We can say right now: Yes! And what kind of fish it is!
You can not catch Big fish any place. It choose the unique, difficult of access places such as
Byelorussian Polesye which is a rare corner of virgin Nature.